WJHS Art Students

Students holding Art

West Jones High School art students were recently selected to display their artwork in USM’s George Hurst Gallery of Art and Design for the annual Make Your Mark Art Competition.  These pieces were exhibited in a show throughout the duration of summer.  Pictured left to right: Cindy Ngo, Bailey Smith, Sara Ellzie, Cassidey Loper, Brandon Stringer, Cassie Winship, Karson Wardell, and J.P. Person.
Saturday, August 19th, at the closing ceremony, J.P. Person (pictured far right) won 2nd place and a cash prize for his piece, “Urban Distress.”

WJHS Senior is Jeopardy Fan!

Student holding Letter and picture

Treveonta (Trey) Payton is a Senior at West Jones High School. Trey is an accomplished artist and enjoys doing character pictures of famous people. Trey loves to share his gift of art and graciously gifts his art to all of his teachers and classmates. One day, Mr. George Blackledge, retired teacher and full time sub for West Jones High School, had an amazing idea! Trey had gifted Mr. Blackledge with a picture of Jeopardy game show host, Alex Trebeck. Mr. Blackledge, in turn, sent the photo and a letter about Trey to Mr. Trebeck. Mr. Trebeck graciously returned an autographed photo of himself to Trey! Trey is so excited to hear from one of his favorite celebrities!!!!

WJHS Quiz Bowl at NAQT National Tournament

Picture of four students

Members of the West Jones High School Quiz Bowl Team competed against the nation's top 15% at the NAQT National Tournament in Atlanta during the summer. The team enjoyed riveting competition as well as educational excursions to the Georgia Aquarium, Bodies: The Exhibit, and the Breman Jewish Heritage Center and Art Gallery, where they received a tour by the museum curator. Pictured, from left: Isaiah Harper, Matt Hendry, Adam Dickey, and team captain Nick Sumrall.

Lady Mustangs along with Coach Sharon Murray hosted basketball camp on June 22-23 at West Jones High School

Students attending basketball camp

Lady Mustangs along with Coach Sharon Murray hosted basketball camp on June 22-23 at West Jones High School. 1st row starting from bottom- left to right : Kennedy Carr, Alyssa Dingman, Jakera Ducksworth, Natessia Windham, Katelyn Gordon ,Da'Kathyion Sinegal. 2nd row : Ja'mariyah Hilton,Kendra Carr, Aasia Wilson, Jayden Carr, Cshanti Pierce, Lindsey Cole, Chrissy Blackwell, and Halei Keyes. Lady Mustangs : Miesha Bender T'Kiaya Pough, Darianna Hawkins, Briana Carr, Felecia Ellis, Sylenna Taylor, Nevagant Jones, Ariel Loper, Brikayla Gray, Brishell Gray, and Jurnee McLaurin

West Jones High School Sr. BETA members recently competed at the National Convention

Group of students attening

West Jones High School Sr. BETA members recently competed at the National Convention which was held in Orlando, Florida on June 29-July 2. Competing in Advertising Design were Kate Broom, Nakiyah Jordan, and Anna Grace Geiger--placed Top 5. Competing in Quiz Bowl were Joshua Cooper, Logan Pitts, Nick Sumrall, and Jess Cooley--placed 7th.

West Jones Junior Beta Wins at State Convention

Group of students attending National Beta Convention

West Jones Junior Beta Club recently attend the State Junior Beta Club Convention in Biloxi. The students competed in various events. The Tower of Power Team placed second in division II and received a bid to the National Convention to be held in Orlando, Florida. Tower of Power is designed for a team of 3-5 students to use innovative problem solving techniques and engineering concepts to create a tower that supports a tennis ball for one minute. Straws, masking tape, and tennis balls are supplied for each team. The club would like to thank Mrs. Connie Lowe, West Jones Physics teacher for working with the team.  Pictured from left to right: Dawson Stringer, Jaylon Everett, Justin Grayson, Noah Hosey, Daniel Chastain, and Patrick Jordan.Sponsors of the club are: Debbie Bender, Suzi Broom, Sharon Murray, Kathy Robinson, and Melissa Kinsey.

West Jones High| 254 Springhill Rd., | Laurel, MS 39443 | Phone: (601) 729-8144 | Fax: (601) 729-8148

Created by Ricky Stewart, Webmaster for the Jones County School District.