Jones County Schools

Microsoft Outlook

Nondiscrimination Notice

Students can not be dropped
off before 7:20 AM.
Tardy bell rings at 7:45 AM.

Must have photo ID
to check out a student.

313 Anderson Street Ellisville, MS 39437
(601) 477-8451 FAX: (601) 477-3505

South Jones High School is a public high school in Jones County in Ellisville, Mississippi. The original school was built in 1965 and was renovated in 1995. A special services building was built in 1993. South Jones High School serves grades 7-12 and has an enrollment of approximately 1,300 students. The school has an instructional staff of 94, four principals, and three counselors.
Click here to read a message from the Principal, Dr. B.R. Jones



South Jones Announces Top of Class

Katelynn McGowen: Valedictorian

Mary Woodyard: Salutatorian

Summer Taylor: Historian

Star Teacher: Sarah Wansley & Star Student: Mary Woodyard

Miguel Morgan and Jordan Rogers are set to represent South Jones in the 2016 D.M. Howie Crossroads Diamond Club All-Star Baseball Game.  Morgan is an infielder/pitcher for this years baseball team.  Rogers is in his fifth year as the Braves head coach.



The SJ baseball team recently read to the K-4th grade classes at South Jones Elementary.



South Jones Drama Presented Once on This Island this past weekend.


Pictured L to R: Back Row: Shane Barnes; Jesse Tims; Miguel Morgan; Kirkland McDuffie; Landon Thompson; Tristan Miller; Scott Phillips

Middle Row: Ashley Long; Lindsey Jenkins; Ann Barnett; Ashlynn Breland; Anna Evans; Mary Woodyard; Precious Graham

Front Row: Summer Taylor; Ashton Dodd; Madison McAlpin; Kyleigh Campbell; Katelynn McGowen; Madelyn Brewer; Abbey Johnson; Christian Lee

Sertoma Student of the Month for March

Haley Smith and her teacher Ms. Otha Keys

South Jones Sponsored a Dessert Auction and Bake Sale to raise money for Relay for Life.

Pictured: Mrs. Brynn Strickler & Mrs. Allison Merritt

Ellzey Wins at District in FFA
South Jones FFA's Colleen Ellzey recently took 2nd Place in Junior Extemporaneous Speaking at the South District FFA Competition held at JCJC.  She is the daughter of Jason and Lindsey Ellzey of Ellisville.  Her FFA Advisors are Ken Parker and Joe Robinson.
Dylan Ladner was the highest scoring Welder in the District Competition
SJ FFA Welders Top in District
The South Jones FFA welding team of Dylan Ladner, Kasey Dinwiddie, Dustin Grant, and Jacob Howe recently took home top honors in the South District FFA Competition held at JCJC.  Ladner was the Top Scoring Individual in District Welding Competition!  They now advance to state competition.  SJ FFA Advisors are Ken Parker and Joe Robinson.

South Jones Takes 1st Place in Welding

South Jones FFA Welding Team

From L to R:

Dylan Ladner; Kasey Dinwiddie; Dustin Grant; Jacob Howe

Kasey Dinwiddie placed 1st in the Welding Competition earning him a $500 Scholarship



South Jones 2015/2016 Teacher of the Year

Supervising Principal Dr. B.R. Jones & 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year Jennifer Valentine

Beta Club Induction Ceremony for grades 9-12 will take place Thursday evening, 12/17, in the South Jones Performing Arts Center at 6:30 pm.

South Jones High School 2015-2016 Wellness Plan


South Jones 2015-2016 Class Officers/ Class Favorites


Sertoma Student of the Month

September: Steven Sasser
Pictured With: Terri Mitchell

October: Taylor Evans
Pictured With: Brynn Strickler

November: Anna Kate Howard
Pictured With: Terri Mitchell


South Jones Hosts Ice Cream Party for Perfect Attendance

On October 26, 2015 South Jones High School had an Ice Cream Sundae Party for all students 7-12 who did not get written up and who had perfect attendance for 1st 9 weeks. Pictured is Superintendent, Mr. Tommy Parker and Middle School Principal, Mr. Scott Tyson with some of the 7th graders at the event.  7th Graders pictured are: Alexis Walters, Cody Walters, Reeves Crowder, Brandy Nicole Patterson, and Lexi Bullock

7th Grade Class Officers:
President: Reid Gavin
Vice President: Mary Claire Hughes
Secretary: Anna Donald
Treasurer: Emma Kate Fluker
7th Grade Class Favorites:
Emma Kate Fluker
Abby Nix
Reid Gavin

8th Grade Class Officers:
President: Connor Smith
Vice President: Cydney Robertson
Secretary: Kailey Lawrence
Treasurer: Keely Skellion

8th Grade Class Favorites:
Dalton Taylor
Nick Hutchinson
Baylee Boyette
Halie Moffett
9th Grade Class Officers:
President: Jared Bush
Vice President: Colleen Ellzey
Secretary: Chad Moses
Treasurer: Sidney Matthew
9th Grade Class Favorites:
Chad Moses
Luke Youngblood
Anna Brownlee
Annamarie Kirkwood
10th Grade Class Officers:
President: Kameron Flowers
Vice President: Darby Cooley
Secretary: Rylee Gavin
Treasurer: Timber Prince
10th Grade Class Favorites:
Bryson Sumrall
Kameron Flowers
Annabelle Bryant
Rylee Gavin
11th Grade Class Officers:
President: Steven Sasser
Vice President: Haley Smith
Secretary: Jennifer Hodges
Treasurer: Mary Morgan Windham
11th Grade Class Favorites:
Jay Hathorn
Tyler Holliman
Haley Smith
Haley Carlisle

12th Grade Class Officers:
President: Kirkland McDuffie
Vice President: Precious Graham
Secretary (Not Pictured): Kyleigh Campbell
Treasurer: Abbey Johnson

12th Grade Class Favorites:
Shane Barnes
Miguel Morgan
Summer Taylor
Christain Lee