Special Education Department

Welcome to the homepage for the special services department of the Jones County School District.  The goal of special services is to provide an instructional program that will minimize student disability and maximize learning opportunities.  The purpose of special services is to provide instruction to meet the needs of eligible students ages three through twenty-one and to develop academic, social/emotional, and vocational skills.

The Jones County School District continually participates in an ongoing statewide effort to identify, locate, and evaluate children from birth to twenty-one, who may have a physical, mental, communicative, and/or emotional disability.

Early identification of children in need of special education experiences is most important to each child. You can help by referring a child in need of educational services. The child-find person works with local survey committees at the schools and other agencies to help with the process. After getting parental consent for testing, a nondiscriminatory evaluation is conducted. Students are evaluated by qualified personnel in areas related to the suspected disability.
Suellen Furlow
Suellen Furlow

Director of Special Populations
Bachelor of Science-MSU
Master of Education-USM
Educational Specialist-MSU

Educational services for eligible children will not begin until the child reaches the age of three. When a child is determined eligible for special education services; we send a notification to the parent(s), then an Individual Educational Program (IEP) is developed for the student with participation of teacher, student, and parent(s). The IEP’s are reviewed/ revised every year. Reevaluations are conducted for eligible special education students every three years.

Department of Special Services

Tina Wigington

Administrative Assistant
Mary Forsythe
Social Worker
Angela Kelly
Occupational Therapist
Donna Powell
Dyslexia Therapist
Kelli Landrum
Transition Coordinator
Julie Brown
Transition Specialist
Shelly Windham
M.S., M,Ed
Positive Behavior Specialist
Cindy Carter
Positive Behavior Specialist
Janet Culpepper
Marla Rayner-Sumrall
Vickie McNeill


Registration: Jones County Career Prep Fair  
Seasweb Referral to Tier 3 Form
Motivation Assessment Scale Revised Teacher Observation Printable Form
Student Strengths Checklist Counseling Documentation Form
Tier System Process for JCSD Functional Behavioral Assessment Consent Form
FY17 Executive Summary Report School Counselor Documentation Sheet
Academic Folder Layout Student Risk Screening Scale - SRSS
Behavior Folder Layout Brief Functional Behavior Assessment
Behavior Universal Rating Scale Weekly Teacher Documentation Form


Online Asperser Syndrome Information and Support
International Dyslexia Association
Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication Handicapped Children
The Arc
Kamp Kaleidoscope
Muscular Dystrophy Association
Mississippi Department of Mental Health 

Jones County School District | 5204 Hwy. 11 N, | Ellisville, MS 39437 | Phone: (601) 649-5201 | Fax: (601) 649-1613 | Site Map

Created by Ricky Stewart, Webmaster for the Jones County School District.